Pratt hosts, wins 4A Regional Wrestling Meet

The Pratt Greenback wrestlers gather with the regional championship trophy after the...
The Pratt Greenback wrestlers gather with the regional championship trophy after the completion of the tournament. A KSHSAA Class 4A Regional Wrestling Tournament was held at Pratt High School in Pratt, Kansas on February 16, 2019. (Photo: Joey Bahr, (KWCHCIK)
Published: Feb. 17, 2019 at 12:20 PM CST
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

The Pratt Greenbacks hosted a Class 4A Regional Wrestling Tournament and won the meet by sending nine wrestlers on to State.

Pratt won the meet with a team score of 187.5 points. Scott Community came in second in their first year in Class 4A with 164 points. Ulysses finished third with a score of 154 points.

In weight class 106 pounds, Devon Weber of Pratt finished first with a 8-0 major decision over Quentin Pauda of Ulysses. In the third place match, Caleb Pavlacka of Andale won in a 8-4 decision over Zach Rohrbough of Scott Community.

For weight class 113 pounds, Kyle Sackett of Rose Hill won a 5-0 decision over Kaiser Pelland of Pratt to take first. Earlier, Corbyn Pauda of Ulysses defeated Wyatt Wright of Towanda-Circle by pin fall to take third.

In weight class 120 pounds, Chadwick Stahl of Mulvane took first with a 11-7 decision over Hector Serratos of Andale. In the third place match, Koda Dipman of Pratt pinned Jonathan Lara of Ulysses.

For weight class 126 pounds, Keegan Beavers of Rose Hill won a 5-3 decision over Dylan Cox of Pratt to win the class. Andrew Payne of Andale took third place by winning a 12-8 decision over Quinton Redford of Wellington.

In weight class 132 pounds, first place went to Justus McDaniel of Scott Community after he defeated Adam Whitson of Buhler in a 5-3 decision in overtime. In the third place match, Peyton Besco of Rose Hill won a 3-2 decision over Jason Hecht of Hesston.

For weight class 138 pounds, Kaden Wren of Scott Community pinned Sam Elliott of Buhler to take first place. In the third place match, Juan Urbina of Ulysses defeated Samajay Alboyd of Larned by technical fall 15-0.

In weight class 145, Darryl Rylant of Clearwater won by pin fall over Theron Tucker of Scott Community for first place. Earlier, Dawson Chavez of Andale won third place over Nick Elliott of Buhler with a 5-2 decision.

For weight class 152, Kadence Riner of Pratt won a 11-2 major decision over Eli Aouad of Andale to take first place. Hugoton's Michael Mendoza won third place with a 9-6 decision over Cole Daughhetee of Rose Hill.

In weight class 160 pounds, David Leck of Rose Hill took first after a 6-5 decision over Jadon Koehler of Pratt. Third place went to Nick Holmes of Ulysses after a 5-3 decision over Carter Cozaihr of Hugoton.

For weight class 170 pounds, Wyatt Hayes of Scott Community pinned Grant Scheer of Rose Hill to take first place. Earlier, Nickerson's Jarin Gomez won third place by pin fall over Bryce Winsor of Pratt.

In weight class 182 pounds, Caden Blankenship of Pratt won first with a 11-4 decision over Kanden Young of Wellington. For third place, Alex Corpus of Ulysses defeated Eli Moore of Towanda-Circle with a 5-3 decision.

For weight class 195 pounds, Ryan Vogel of Clearwater used a 7-2 decision over Tucker Trevett of Wichita-Trinity Academy to take first place. Clayton Epley of Rose Hill won third over Jace Garrison of Ulysses in a 5-1 decision.

In weight class 220 pounds, Kenny Fehrman of Wellington won first place over Kyle Sherwood of Scott Community with a 4-2 decision in overtime. David Cruz of Hugoton took third place over Hunter Huber of Pratt by pin fall.

For weight class 285 pounds, Ayston Perez of Ulysses used a 9-2 decision over Conner Snell of Clearwater to take first place. Earlier, Ethan Shackelford of Andale defeated Kyle Smith of Mulvane with a 3-2 decision.

Scott Community's 170 pound wrestler, Wyatt Hayes, was named the Regional Wrestler of the Year. Pratt's Tate Thompson won Regional Coach of the Year.

Pratt will send the most wrestlers to next week's State Championship with nine. Ulysses sends the second most with eight wrestlers. Rose Hill will send seven to Salina. Andale and Scott Community both will send six to State. Buhler, Clearwater, Hugoton, and Wellington will all send three wrestlers. Mulvane and Circle will each send a pair of wrestlers to Salina. Hesston, Larned, Nickerson, and Wichita Trinity all qualified one wrestler for the State Tournament.

"We feel pretty positive going into the State Tournament," said Pratt Head Coach Tate Thompson. For the second week his team won a team title after taking the Central Kansas League title last week.

"We were thinking we would qualify eight to ten and we ended up in the middle of that range," commented Coach Thompson. "There's some good teams like Scott Community and Marysville. We know we got a lot of competition ahead of us.”