Marysville, Scott City lead after day one of 4A State Wrestling

Published: Feb. 22, 2019 at 11:32 PM CST
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

The race for a state title in 4A wrestling will come down to the final, with four schools within 21 points of first place after day one of action.

Marysville is on top with 88 points, 11 points ahead of defending 3-2-1A state champion Scott City who made the jump to 4A this year.

Marysville will have two wrestlers competing for state titles Saturday, Garron Champoux at 195 pounds and Storm Slupianek at 170. Both will need to pull off upsets to win a state championship.

Champoux will face top ranked Connor Searcy of Tongaonxie for the 195 crown, while Slupianek, ranked 5th in 4A, will have to upset defending champion Wyatt Hayes from Scott City.

Speaking of the Beavers, they'll have three wrestlers in hopes of surpassing Marysville in the team rankings. In addition to Hayes, Justus McDaniel and Kaden Wren will both be going for first place finishes. McDaniel is the favorite at 132, ranked first and will go up against Adam Whitson of Buhler for the title. At 138, Wren will need to upset an undefeated foe. Riley McDaniel, a senior from Frontenac, improved to 37-0 with a 7-5 win by decision over Ulysses' Juan Urbina.

Joining McDaniel from from Frontenac in going for a title will be his teammate Mason Jameson. Jameson will go up against defending state champion Darryl Rylant from Clearwater at 145.

Winfield will have a pair of wrestlers going for titles as well. Owen Braungardt is the top ranked wrestler at 182, he'll face number two ranked Brett Bober of Burlington. His teammate Braden Ledford needed an upset at 113 to reach the finals, and he got it, handing Chance Mitzner of Osawatomie just his second loss of the season.

Pratt, trailing by 25 points in the team rankings, will be lead by Devon Weber at 106 in going for titles. Weber has yet to lose this year. In addition, the Greenbacks' Jadon Koehler upset second ranked Noah Ackerman of Marysville to reach the title match at 160.



Marysville - 88

Scott City - 77

Frontenac - 67.5

Winfield - 67

Pratt - 62

Chanute - 60

Tonganoxie - 58

Burlington - 47.5

Abilene - 37

Andale - 37

Paola - 34

KC Piper - 32

El Dorado - 31

Prairie View - 30.5

Ulysses - 29

Clearwater - 28

Buhler - 27

Mulvane - 27

Fort Scott - 24

Holton - 24

Chapman - 23

Santa Fe Trail - 22

Ottawa - 21

Rose Hill - 20

Bishop Miege - 20

Anderson County - 17

Louisburg - 17

Wamego - 13.5

Wellington - 13.5

Osawatomie - 13

Smoky Valley - 11

Perry-Lecompton - 10

Clay Center - 8

Augusta - 7

Field Kindley - 7

Concordia - 7

Hugoton - 7

Eudora - 6

Russell - 5.5

Rock Creek - 4


106 - Devon Weber (Pratt) vs Trent Clements (Chanute)

113 - William Stroda (Abilene) vs Braden Ledford (Winfield)

120 - Chadwick Stahl (Mulvane) vs Hector Serratos (Andale)

126 - Preston Martin (Paola) vs Coby Burchett (Fort Scott)

132 - Justus McDaniel (Scott City) vs Adam Whitson (Buhler)

138 - Riley McDaniel (Frontenac) vs Kaden Wren (Scott City)

145 - Darryl Rylant (Clearwater) vs Mason Jameson (Frontenac)

152 - Cael Johnson (Burlington) vs Korbin Riedel (Tonganoxie)

160 - Jadon Koehler (Pratt) vs Gavin Cullor (Prairie View)

170 - Wyatt Hayes (Scott City) vs Storm Slupianek (Marysville)

182 - Owen Braungardt (Winfield) vs Brett Bober (Burlington)

195 - Connor Searcy (Tonganoxie) vs Garron Champoux (Marysville)

220 - Braden Morgan (El Dorado) vs Zachery Ferris (Chapman)

285 - Sean Ryan (Bishop Miege) vs LeMoses White (KC-Piper)