Central Plains ties record at 107 straight wins

By  | 

GREAT BEND, Kan. The Central Plains Lady Oilers equaled history as they defeated the Osborne Lady Bulldogs 91-22 and tied the state consecutive wins record with 107.

Central Plains Lady Oiler #11 Emily Ryan brings the ball down the court in the first quarter. The Osborne Lady Bulldogs took on the Central Plains Lady Oilers in a Class 1A Sub-State Semi-Final Game held at LT & Sheila Fleske Court in the Kirkman Activity Center on the campus of Barton Community College in Great Bend, Kansas on February 28, 2019. (Photo: Joey Bahr, www.joeybahr.com)

The Lady Oilers had not lost a game since February of 2015 when they dropped a league game to the Ellinwood Lady Eagles.

Osborne led early in the game after scoring the first basket. Emily Ryan of Central Plains quickly scored to tie the game. From then on the game was under the control of the Lady Oilers.

Central Plains led 53 to 12 at the halftime break. Emily Ryan scored 26 points in the first half alone.

She would finish the night with a total of 36 points. Ryan scored two points from the free throw line and two three pointers. The remaining 28 points came via jump shots or layups.

Delany Rugan contributed 17 points on the evening. Lexi Oeser added 12 points to the victory.

After the game when asked about the wins streak, Emily Ryan commented, "We don't really care about how many wins in a row it is. We are just worried about our next game which is Atwood and we need to win that to get to state which is what we want."

"We never really talked about that," said Central Plains Head Coach Pat Stiles on tying Hoxie's 107 consecutive wins. "We always just talk about getting ready for the next game and that's what they did tonight. We were ready to play. We'll treat the next game as the most important game and get ready to play."

The next game for Central Plains will be against the Rawlins County Lady Bulldogs. The winner will advance to the 1A State Tournament in Dodge City. If Central Plains wins, they will claim the consecutive wins record for their own at 108 wins.