Andale, Rose Hill lead way for Class 4A teams qualifying for state

Published: Oct. 20, 2018 at 8:44 PM CDT
Email this link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

For the fourth time in five years, the Andale Indians are making a trip to the state volleyball tournament, having no issues winning sub-state Saturday afternoon.

After making quick work of Clearwater to start the day, the Indians faced off with Circle in the sub-state title match. Against the Thunderbirds, Andale again came away with a two set win, 25-18 25-15.

Joining Andale at the Class 4A tournament will be Rose Hill, who survived a scare as Nickerson took the Rockets to three sets, with Rose Hill pulling away to take the final set 25-16. The Rockets are seeking a third straight championship in Hutchinson next weekend.

While it was chalk at those two sub-states, upsets--at least based on seed--filled the other two 4A West sub-states.

Top seed Pratt, who entered with a 28-4 overall record, fell in two sets to 17 seed Wamego, a team that came to Pratt with just 7 wins on the season. Wamego would meet 9 seed Topeka-Hayden who knocked off Abilene for the sub-state championship.

In that match, Wamego ran out of steam, with Hayden sending them home in two sets, 25-8 25-13. Hayden, the top ranked team in 4A in the latest KVA poll, will be going for a fourth consecutive state championship, having won each of the last three titles in the old 4A Division II Class.

Second seed Ulysses didn't drop as early as Pratt, winning against Mulvane to begin their tournament. But it was Wichita-Trinity that came in and surprised a pair of team to reach the state tournament. The Knights started the day getting by Chapman in three sets, the third going to an extra point with Trinity winning 26-24.

For the title, Trinity and Ulysses would split 25-20 results in the first two sets to force a third. In that third set, Trinity dominated the Tigers, finishing with a 25-14 set to take the match and the sub-state crown.


Independence (31-1)

Chanute (31-5)

Louisburg (27-6)

Andale (25-6)

Rose Hill (25-6)

Topeka-Hayden (21-15)

Bishop Miege (17-12)

Wichita Trinity (17-12)

Latest News

Latest News