Andale claims 4A State Wrestling Title

Andale takes home 4A wrestling title
Published: Feb. 25, 2023 at 10:45 PM CST
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

SALINA, Kan. (Catch it Kansas) - The Andale Indians captured the Class 4A State Wrestling Team championship by scoring 163 points over the two days of the tournament.

This was Andale’s fifth overall state championship in wrestling. They last won the team title in 2021.

In the individual weight classes, Brock Johnson of Paola won a 4-2 decision over Johnny Leck of Rose Hill to win weight class 106 pounds. Colby’s Ryder Dempewolf took third with a pin-fall of Mason Gibbons from Independence. Fifth place went to Andale’s Tristen Cox when he pinned Mulvane’s Koehn Dietrich 40 seconds into their match.

In the 113-pound weight class, senior Brock Sutton from Ottawa pinned freshman Bryson Rockers of Paola for the state championship. A Rockers win would have given Paola third place over Augusta in the team competition.

Rose Hill’s Adam Bilby took the 113-pound third place with an 18-3 technical fall over Santa Fe Trail’s Cody Black. Keith Sanders of Independence defeated Winfield’s Talon Suttles with a takedown for a 3-1 sudden victory in the first overtime period to take fifth place.

Julio Aguirre of Rose Hill won a 5-1 decision over Winfield’s Owen Suttles to capture the 120-pound state championship. Paola’s Kaiden Powell took third with a 3-2 decision over Sammy Hershberger of Buhler. Senior Koby Tyler from Concordia ended his high school career with a 10-0 major decision over Holton’s Lucas Batz for fifth place.

In the 126-pound weight class, Augusta’s Marcus Terry won a 3-2 decision over Rose Hill’s Damon Ingram to capture his third state title. Third place went to Christopher McClanahan of Abilene after he pinned Colby’s Kaeden McCarty. Knox Karnowski from Wamego claimed fifth after winning a 7-0 decision over Smoky Valley’s Connor Barnes.

The 123-pound title went to Tonganoxie’s Braeden Moore. Moore won an 11-4 decision over Independence’s Kohen Wright. Augusta’s Kalvin LaPlant won third place with a 1-0 decision over Fort Scott’s Jasper Allison. Daniel Vines of Concordia went to overtime with Gregery Martinez from Holcomb to win fifth place with a 3-1 sudden victory.

In weight class 138 pounds, Andale’s AJ Furnish won the state title on a 4-2 sudden victory in overtime against Trey Dillow of Chanute. Third place went to Augusta’s Grady Fox when he pinned Tucker Wark from Colby. Josh Lawrie of Independence used a 5-2 decision over AJ Schaffer of Anderson County to claim fifth place.

Andale’s Owen Eck pinned Tonganoxie’s Brady Martin 1:12 into the match to win the 144-pound weight class. This was Eck’s third straight state championship and also capped a perfect season for the junior.

Tucker Cell of Abilene pinned Pratt’s Blake Winsor to take third place. In the fifth-place match, Fort Scott’s Brody Gomez won a 4-1 decision over Paola’s Macoy Johnson.

Pratt’s Taye Wilson defeated Cannon Carey of Augusta by a takedown in overtime for the 8-6 sudden victory to win the 150-pound weight class. In the third-place match, Noah Bailey of Tonganoxie won a 3-2 decision over Wamego’s Thomas McIntyre. Rose Hill’s Rhett Briggs claimed fifth place with a 6-3 decision over Scott Community’s Collin McDaniel.

In the 157-pound weight class, Chanute’s Ty Leedy won the state title with a 5-4 decision over Andale’s Jonah Meyer. Braden Wilson of Abilene took third place on a 7-3 decision against Paola’s Charlie Zeller. Fifth went to Cooper Reves of McPherson with a pin of Hugoton’s Adam Mendoza.

Clay Center Community’s Brett Loader pinned Scott Community’s Houston Frank with four seconds left in the match to win the 165-pound state title. Ian Aouad of Andale went to overtime to win a 3-1 sudden victory over Paola’s Clayton Younger for third place. Colton Brusven of Tonganoxie won fifth place over Holton’s Jayden Fletcher after a medical forfeit.

The 175-pound state title went to Winfield’s Kody Brenn with a 3-0 decision over Andale’s Isaiah Wilson. Tucker Jackson of Clay Center Community won third place with a 7-0 decision over Dylan Waggerman from Paola. Smoky Valley’s Parker Gardner won fifth place with a 1-0 decision over Goodland’s Mason Hernandez.

In the 190-pound weight class, Baldwin’s Jack Harvey won a 6-4 decision over Ottawa’s Seth Ferguson for first place. Third went to Justin Degollado of Ulysses with a pin of Chanute’s Cade Small. Mulvane’s Chris Dietrich pinned Osawatomie’s Seth Carrow to win fifth place.

Bronx Wood of Rose Hill pinned Riley Marx of Andale to win the 215-pound state championship. Third place went to Augusta’s Gabe Kant after a 5-3 overtime victory over Chapman’s Brayden Lexow. Dalton Roush of Holton won fifth place after a 5-2 decision against Hunter Benedict of Tonganoxie.

In the last weight class, 285 pounds, Clay Center Community’s Luke Young pinned Kainen White of Coffeyville’s Field Kindley High School to win the state title. Third place went to Rose Hill’s Milan Colvin after a 3-1 sudden victory against Augusta’s Willy Jon Morales.

Jake Eddington of Columbus took fifth place with a pin of Louisburg’s Elijah Eslinger only nine seconds into the match.

Andale won the team title with 163 points and was able to keep second place Rose Hill at bay. Rose Hill earned runner-up with 146.5 points. Augusta picked up the third-place trophy with a score of 127. Paola came in a close fourth with 124.5 points. Clay Center Community earned fifth with 95 points. Tonganoxie, last year’s team champion, came in sixth with 87 points. Chanute earned 74 points to take seventh. Abilene’s 73 team points gave them an eighth-place finish. Independence took ninth with 58 points. Pratt rounds out the top ten teams with a total of 55 points.