Hays High clinches WAC title, sweeps Dodge City

Published: Feb. 23, 2022 at 1:08 PM CST
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

HAYS, Kan. (Catch it Kansas) - The Hays Indians clinched their third consecutive Western Athletic Conference title with a 59-43 victory over the Dodge City Red Demons.

Both teams entered the game at Hays High ranked third in their class in the final KBCA rankings, Dodge City holding the spot in 6A and Hays in 5A.

Hays scored the first points on a Jace Linenberger layup. Dodge City would go on a run to get up 8-2 at one point in the first quarter. They would lead 12-7 at the break going into the second quarter.

The Indian offense exploded in the second quarter with 20 points while holding the Demons to just four points. Carson Kieffer and Jordan Dale each scored seven and Jace Linenberger added six. Hays took a 27-16 lead into the locker room at halftime.

Both teams kept it even in the third quarter. Dodge City added 20 points to their score with five three-pointers. Three of those came from Cooper Scheck. Hays countered with 17 points, with Jace Linenberger scoring 10 of those points.

Also in the third quarter, Carson Kieffer set the Hays High School All-Time Assists record with 370. Several of those assists came on passes to Jace Linenberger.

Early in the fourth quarter, Dodge City narrowed the Indian lead to just five points. Hays would go on a run to end the game 59-43.

Jace Linenberger led all scorers with 26 points on 11 field goals and four of seven from the free-throw line. Linenberger’s points gave him 900 career points and tied him for sixth on the Hays High career list with 1980 graduate Roger Casey. Linenberger also pulled down 16 rebounds to get to 400 career rebounds.

Carson Kieffer scored 15 points including two three-pointers. Jordan Dale added 12 points from five field goals and went two of four from the free-throw line.

Cooper Scheck led Dodge City with 11 points on three three-pointers and a perfect two for two from the free-throw line.

The victory gave the Indians the WAC Championship, their eleventh overall and third consecutive year hoisting the banner.

Copyright 2022 Catch it Kansas. All rights reserved.