2022 Shrine Bowl rosters announced

Published: Jan. 1, 2022 at 4:52 PM CST
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

WICHITA, Kan. (Kansas Shrine Bowl) - The Kansas Shrine Bowl Board of Directors would like to announce the East and West teams for the 2022 Kansas Shrine Bowl. These players have been invited to participate in the 49th Annual Kansas Shrine Bowl to be played at Carnie Smith Stadium at Pittsburg State University in Pittsburg, Kansas, Saturday, July 23rd at 7 p.m.

The 2022 Head Coaches, as selected by votes from the 2021 coaching staff, trainers, managers, and camp directors, are Basehor-Linwood’s Rod Stallbaumer for the East and Wichita Collegiate’s Troy Black for the West.

Players are selected each year by a combination of media votes and selections from the Kansas Shrine Bowl Coaching Staff. Players must be nominated by their high school coach or athletic director. The players selected to the 2022 Kansas Shrine Bowl join the just over 3,000 players who have participated in the annual event since 1974.

“This is an incredibly impressive group of young men,” said B.J. Harris, Executive Director of the Kansas Shrine Bowl. “These players and coaches now have a wonderful opportunity ahead of them, one that is sure to have a lasting impact on their life.”

“We are very excited about the West squad, said West Head Coach Troy Black. “The coaches feel we have a very athletic, tough, and physical football team.  We feel it is a great group of young men who are great players, but also great men and they are a group that truly understands the purpose of this game and what they are really playing for.”

“We are extremely excited about this group,” said Rod Stallbaumer, East Head Coach. “It’s always tough to narrow the roster down to 40, but we feel we have an exceptional group of young men who will be great ambassadors of their schools, communities and programs. We feel we have a well-rounded group of playmakers on offense and some aggressive and athletic guys on defense, who should be fun to coach.”

The Assistant coaches for the East team are Clint Rider (6A – Blue Valley Northwest), Jason Feeback (5A – Spring Hill), Rick Pollard (4A – Piper), Neal Philpot (3A – Girard), Derick Hammes (2A – Rossville) and Jeff Schneider (1A – Jefferson County North).

Assistant coaches for the West team are Ene Akpan (6A – Wichita East), Tony Crough (5A – Hays), Steve Warner (4A – Buhler), Jordan Echer (3A – Concordia), Brad Gober (2A – Beloit) and Lance Sawyer (1A – Inman).

(Full Rosters Below)

2022 Kansas Shrine Bowl East Squad

Zach Atkins, Blue Valley Southwest

Brayden Beerbower, Eudora

Josh Bichelmeyer, St. James Academy

Jovanni Blackie, Paola

Cruz Blair, Frontenac

Daniel Brown, Bishop Ward

Orrin Busenitz, Shawnee Heights

Ty Claiborne, St. James Academy

Drew Daney, Olathe South

Jet Dineen, Free State

Hayden Essex, Blue Valley

Garrett Fager, Osage City

Ryan Feldkamp, Jefferson County North

Will Gavin, Saint Thomas Aquinas

Divante Herrig-Brittain, Piper

Torrey Horak, Rossville

Kendrick Jones, Mill Valley

Zach Knowlton, Spring Hill

Zac Kramer, Nemaha Central

Will Krzykowski, Olathe West

Kolten LaCrone, Chanute

Davis Merrick, Independence

Quantre Moore, Washington

Jared Napoli, Mill Valley

Jayden Oquendo, Olathe Northwest

Jacob Parrish, Olathe North

Gabe Peterson, Blue Valley Northwest

Blake Reeder, Shawnee Mission Northwest

Danny Saili, Topeka

Brett Sarwinski, Galena

Kody Schalk, Columbus

Zach Sisemore, Basehor-Linwood

Ted Skalsky, Olpe

Noah Smith, Lawrence

Trent Spiker, Doniphan West

Casen Stallbaumer, Seaman

Treydon Talley, Centralia

Brecken Troike, Girard

Collin Williams, Bishop Miege

Andrew Williams, Holton

2022 Kansas Shrine Bowl West Squad

Ar’mon Acosta, Winfield

Reed Adelhardt, Garden Plain

Emanuel Aguilar, Dodge City

Braxton Bailey, McPherson

Gavin Bell, El Dorado

Evan Cantu, Maize South

Andon Carpenter, Derby

Drew Daniels, Andover Central

Kayson Dietz, Salina South

Jace Doerksen, Inman

Will Doolittle, Kapaun Mt. Carmel Catholic

Sam Elliott, Buhler

Terrell Elliott, Garden City

Mason Ellis, Mulvane

Colton Haresnape, Smith Center

Braxton Harrison, Cimarron

Cody Hawks, Eisenhower

Lance Hoffsommer, Sedgwick

Matthew Holthusen, Bishop Carroll Catholic

Jaren Kanak, Hays

Brandon Kerr, Maize

Beau Kerschen, Andale

Alex Key, Derby

Colby Klieman, Manhattan

Jaxon Kolzow, Salina Central

Haven Lysell-Stewart, Smoky Valley

Keghan McConnell, Junction City

Gavin Meyers, Hays

Geremiah Moore, Wichita Northwest

Dalton Owen, Concordia

Caquoy Patterson, Wichita East

Chase Poague, Southeast of Saline

Matthew Potucek, Hillsboro

Matthew Rodriguez, Southeast of Saline

Ian Rosales, Colby

Colt Sell, Chapman

Tyson Struber, Canton Galva

Ashtun Villagomez, Wichita Collegiate

Harrison Voth, Cheney

Brennan Walker, Beloit

Copyright 2021 Catch it Kansas. All rights reserved.