KSHSAA releases updated classifications

Published: Sep. 24, 2021 at 5:11 PM CDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

Updated classifications have been released for all 354 KSHSAA member schools, with major changes on tap for football classifications including the addition of 6-player football as a sanctioned sport. The following schools will be changing classifications, starting with these for all sports except for football:

Class 6A: None

Class 5A: None

Class 4A: Rock Creek (3A)

Class 3A: Humboldt (2A), Nickerson (4A), Olathe Heritage (2A)

Class 2A: Jackson Heights (1A), Oskaloosa (3A), Pratt-Skyline (1A), Rosalia-Flinthills (1A), St. Marys (3A)

Class 1A: Leoti-Wichita County (2A), Spearville (2A), Washington County (2A)

Click here to view classifications in full.

Then for football, schools shifting to new classes are as follows:

Class 6A: Wichita Heights (5A), Wichita Northwest (5A)

Class 5A: Great Bend (4A), Kansas City-JC Harmon (6A), Lansing (4A), Wichita-West (6A)

Class 4A: Kansas City-FL Schlagle (5A), St. Thomas Aquinas (5A)

Class 3A [moves to 40 schools]: Wellsville (2A)

Class 2A [moves to 40 schools]: Cherryvale (3A), Council Grove (3A), Gypsum-Southeast of Saline (3A), Halstead (3A), Horton (1A), Larned (3A), Riley County (3A), Russell (3A), Sabetha (3A)

Class 1A [moves to 43 schools]: Belle Plaine (2A), Belleville-Republic County (2A), Cherokee-Southeast (2A), Ellis (2A), Erie (2A), Eskridge-Mission Valley (2A), Hutchinson-Trinity Catholic (2A), Leon-Bluestem (2A), Marion (2A), McLouth (2A), Medicine Lodge (8-Player), Mound City-Jayhawk Linn (2A), Onaga (8-Player), Oskaloosa (2A), Pittsburg-St. Marys Colgan (2A), St. Marys (2A), Sterling (2A), Syracuse (2A), Valley Falls (8-Player), Wathena-Riverside (2A)

Class 8MD1: Brookville-Ell Saline (1A), Elkhart (1A), Lyndon (1A), Mankato-Rock Hills (DII), Osborne (DII), Quinter (DII), Sublette (1A)

Class 8MD2: Highland-Doniphan West (DI), Jetmore-Hodgeman County (DI), Kinsley (DI), Langdon-Fairfield (DI), Moran-Marmaton Valley (DI), St. John-Hudson (DI)

Class 6M: Buffalo-Altoona Midway (8-Player), Chase (8-Player), Chetopa (8-Player), Ingalls (8-Player), LeRoy-Southern Coffey County (8-Player), Lost Springs-Centre (8-Player), Peabody-Burns (8-Player), Southern Cloud (8-Player), Tescott (8-Player), Waverly (8-Player), Wetmore (8-Player), Winona-Triplains/Brewster (8-Player)

Click here to view football classifications in full.

Copyright 2021 Catch it Kansas. All rights reserved.