Ellis opens girls wrestling postseason with District Title

Published: Feb. 5, 2021 at 11:47 PM CST
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

HOISINGTON, Kan. (Catch it Kansas) - The Ellis Lady Railers took home the team title for the Division I District 1 Girls Wrestling meet. The meet held in Hoisington kicked off the postseason march to State Wrestling.

Fourteen teams brought 35 wrestlers for the meet. Two weight classes, 109 and 235 pounds, only had one participant each. The two wrestlers did not need to compete.

Three weight classes, 126, 138, and 191 pounds, saw only two entrants each. These ladies competed only once.

Another three weight classes, 101, 155, and 170 pounds, competed in a round-robin format as they had three wrestlers each.

In weight class 101 pounds Citori Bosserman of Oakley took first place. Second place went to Sheena Gocela of Hoisington and followed by Callie Priest of Ellis taking third.

Abby Heifner of Ellis took weight class 109 pounds as the only participant.

Kathie Chavez of Colby won the 155 pounds weight class with a 7 to 3 decision over Kiana Grandclair of Hoisington. Sabrina Todd of Norton Community took third, and fourth place went to Havon Rickard of Goodland.

Mikyah Cain of Oakley used an 11-0 major decision over Emily Lovett of Hoisington to win the 120 pounds weight class. Third place went to Amanda Jaeger of Colby, and fourth went to Caxton Smyth of Plainville.

The 126 pounds weight class champion went to Ellis’ Haley Cranwell with an 8-7 decision over Isabella Keese of Phillipsburg.

Second-ranked in the KWCA rankings, Marissa Porsch of Hoxie pinned Ellis’ Madison Gottchalk for first place in weight class 132 pounds. Third place went to Brylee Horting of Plainville, Hailey Izzarelli of Norton Community took fourth place, and MeDora Cooper of Russell won fifth place.

Kaileigh Morrison of Atwood-Rawlins County won weight class 138 pounds over Tally Wikum of Hoisington with a 5 to 2 decision.

In weight class 143 pounds, Kaydawn Haag of Ellis won a 4-2 decision over Sydney Boyle of Trego Community for first place. Third place went to Xavia Brenn of Rawlins County. Lyrica Orosco of Hoisington took fourth place, and fifth place went to Kalli Moore of Phillipsburg.

Weight Class 155 pounds went to Sydney Mitchell of Phillipsburg. Addybelle Birdsall of Plainville claimed second place, and third place went to Sydney Redetzke of Ellis.

Samantha Sneath of Plainville won weight class 170 pounds. Tia Paxton of Norton Community took second while Raven Long of Stockton took third place.

Sierra Lanning of Smith Center pinned Gracie Temmel of Norton Community to win weight class 191 pounds.

Sole participant Jayln Moore of Oakley won weight class 235 pounds.

In the team competition, Ellis won with a total of 76.0 points. Second place went to Hoisington with 60.0 points. Oakley took third with 48.0 points.

Norton Community earned 37.0 points to take fourth place. Colby followed in fifth with 34.0 points. Sixth place went to Rawlins County with 32.0 points.

Seventh place went to Plainville with 30.0 points. Hoxie followed in eighth place with 26.0 points. Phillipsburg earned 24.0 points to claim ninth place. Smith Center earned 22.0 points to win the tenth place.

Trego Community, Goodland, Russell, and Stockton finished the final four places for the team competition.

The next round will be regional wrestling held in two weeks.

Copyright 2021 Catch it Kansas. All rights reserved.