2021 Kansas Shrine Bowl Rosters Announced

2021 Kansas Shrine Bowl
2021 Kansas Shrine Bowl(CIK)
Published: Jan. 2, 2021 at 1:15 PM CST
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

(Release) - The Kansas Shrine Bowl Board of Directors would like to announce the East and West teams for the 2021 Kansas Shrine Bowl. These players have been invited to participate in the 48th Annual Kansas Shrine Bowl to be played at Gowans Stadium in Hutchinson, Kansas on Saturday, June 26th at 7 p.m.

The 2021 Head Coaches, as selected by votes from the 2020 coaching staff, trainers, managers, and camp directors, are DeSoto’s Brian King for the East and Norton’s Lucas Melvin, leading the West.

Players are selected each year by a combination of media votes and selections from the Kansas Shrine Bowl Coaching Staff. Players must be nominated by their high school coach or athletic director. The players selected to the 2021 Kansas Shrine Bowl join the just over 3,000 players who have participated in the annual event since 1974.

“We are very excited about the great group of young men selected for this year’s game,” said B.J. Harris, Executive Director of the Kansas Shrine Bowl. “These players and coaches now have an incredible opportunity ahead of them, one that is sure to have a lasting impact in their life.”

“This is a very talented group of kids,” said East Head Coach Brian King. “Getting the roster down to thirty-six was tough, there are a lot of special players out there. I’m impressed by this group and I’m excited to get to work with them.”

“There are so many great players out here in the West,” said West Head Coach Lucas Melvin. “I feel like we have tremendous talent at every position. I don’t think they’re just talented players, but great young men and I’m excited to get to work with them.”

The Assistant coaches for the East team are 6A Assistant, Steve Rampy (Lawrence); 5A Assistant, Anthony Orrick (Blue Valley Southwest); 4A Assistant, Rod Stallbaumer (Basehor-Linwood); 3A Assistant, Brooks Barta (Holton); 2A Assistant, Andrew Gantenbein (Osage City), 1A Assistant, Chirs Schmidt (Olpe). The East coaching staff had a combined record of 57-16 in 2020, including a State Champion with Olpe.

Assistant coaches for the West team are 6A Assistant, Randall Zimmerman (Junction City); 5A Assistant, Mike Vernon (Hutchinson); 4A Assistant, Jon Wiemers (Arkansas City); 3A Assistant, Troy Black (Wichita Collegiate); 2A Assistant, Zach Baird (Hoisington); 1A Assistant, Jeff Hennick (Oakley). The West Coaching staff had a combined 59-20 record in 2020, with three State Runner-Up finishes.


2021 Kansas Shrine Bowl West Roster

Ethan AbellOakley1A
Nic AllenRiley County3A
Shadryon BlankaSt. Francis8M-II
Julius BoldenWichita Northwest5A
Noah BolticoffRose Hill4A
Carter BrownInman1A
Tanner CashClearwater3A
Spencer DavidsonMinneapolis2A
Trevor EricksonChapman3A
Kenny FehrmanWellington4A
Jayden GarrisonLittle River8M-I
Doug GriderHalstead3A
Holt HanzlickHoisington2A
Gaven HaselhorstHays5A
Christien HawksNorton2A
Jack HawverHutchinson5A
Nick HerrmanWichita Collegiate3A
Damian IlalioManhattan6A
Jake JohnsonMaize South5A
Wetu KalomoWichita Northwest5A
Koy KennyUlysses4A
Andrew KhouryJunction City6A
Isaiah MaikoriAndover5A
Trey NuzumGarden City6A
Harlan ObiohaHoxie8M-I
Oz PerezHolcomb3A
Ben PurvisBishop Carroll5A
Jacob ReesAndover Central4A
Darby RoperHaven2A
Josh SandersMaize5A
Maximus ShannonArk City4A
Jake ShopeGoddard5A
Ty SidesPhillipsburg2A
Ethan StulsatzKapaun Mt. Carmel5A
Lem WashDerby6A
Cayden WinterAndale3A

2021 Kansas Shrine Bowl East Roster

Tanner BacusParsons3A
Jordan BarnardOlpe1A
Malik BensonLansing4A
Danny CarrollSt. Thomas Aquinas5A
Leo ClennanBV Northwest6A
Max CloseSM South6A
Tristen EverardBV Southwest5A
Ma’rrell FountainOlathe Eest6A
Denver GardnerSpring Hill5A
Tyler GeretyNemaha Central2A
Jacob HartmanMill Valley5A
Austin HolthausCentralia1A
Darell JonesCoffeyville4A
Canon KarnHolton3A
Miles KitselmanLyndon1A
Ethan KremerMill Valley5A
Branden MartinTonganoxie4A
Jackson MillerDe Soto5A
Mack MoellerBishop Miege4A
Cole MondiLawrence6A
Caleb MurilloColumbus3A
Clayton PowerBlue Valley6A
Desmond PurnellTopeka Hayden3A
Bo ReevesRossville2A
Ethan ReynoldsGardner-Edgerton6A
Hayden RobbPerry-Lecompton3A
Drew SchmelzleSabetha3A
Andrew SchwinnMaur Hill-Mount Academy2A
Carter StanchfieldPaola4A
Isaac StantonBasehor-Linwood4A
Kolby TalbotAxtell8M-II
Dane WhalenOsage City2A
LaJames WhiteSt. James Academy4A
Dee WidemanGirard3A
Cameron WiseWest Franklin2A
Luke ZegunisOlathe West6A

Copyright 2021 Catch it Kansas. All rights reserved.