It is time for the Seventh-Annual Catchy Awards to honor the top student athletes of the year. The media and coaches have spoken with their all-state, all-league and all-area teams. This is a chance for you, the fan and supporter of high school athletics, to have your say in which athletes and teams deserve postseason honors from the viewing area.

To vote on the CatchItKansas App, select the 'Catchys' tab



There are 28 different categories and five winners from last year will try to repeat this year. Those athletes/teams that are looking for a repeat are:

Madison Hutchison – Girls’ Swimmer of the Year
Regan Kaiser – Girls’ Soccer Player of the Year
Jessi Haffner – Softball Player of the Year
Wichita South Girls’ Basketball – 6A Team of the Year
Sam Stevens – Boys Golfer of the Year (Going for third Catchy Award)

This year there are a total of 47 schools represented in 28 categories. Bishop Carroll leads the way with 10 nominees, the most of any school.  Maize and Wichita Collegiate both boast six nominees and Hays and Kapaun Mt. Carmel both qualified five.


Every vote counts, as numerous awards last year were decided by less than 50, and even less than 10 votes in a few catergories.

Bishop Carroll’s Zeke Palmer beat out Conway Springs’ Tanner Wood by a single, solitary vote. Maize’s Paige Lungwitz won the Girls’ Basketball Player of the Year by three votes over McPherson’s Katelyn Loecker. The Hutchinson Trinity’s Boys’ Cross Country team won the 3A Team of the Year by eight votes over the Scott City Boys’ Basketball team.

Voting this year runs from June 16 to July 25. The winners will be announced the final week of July.