More than 6,000 of you have voted so far, as 11 of the 28 categories are separated by 100 votes or less. The five tightest races are as follows:

4A Team of the Year

Buhler football leads the McPherson boys’ basketball team by just six votes. Both are state champions and both had outstanding seasons with several standout athletes. To add to the tightness of the race is the Wichita Trinity girls’ soccer team. The Lady Knights (and 4-1A soccer state champions) trail Buhler by 26 votes.

Boys’ Cross Country Runner of the Year

Ellinwood’s Pedro Montoya holds a slim lead in the boys’ cross country runner of the year over Bishop Carroll’s Nick Martin by 24 votes. Winfield’s Josh Hanna is not far behind Montoya and trails by 44 votes. Montoya led the Eagles to a 2A state championship and ran a 16:22.71 5,000 meter race to win the individual title. Martin finished third at state, the best finish among the 5A state champion Golden Eagles. Martin was also the Wichita City League champion.

Boys’ Track and Field Athlete of the Year

Hesston’s Ryan Schadler leads the boys’ track and field category by 34 votes over Deron Thompson of Wichita Northwest. Schadler had a tremendous state meet as he took home two gold medals, one silver and one bronze. Thompson finished with two gold medals in the 100 and 200 meter dashes.

Girls’ Cross Country Runner of the Year

Hillsboro’s Emily Sechrist leads Garden City’s Alex Miller in the girls’ cross country runner of the year category by 37 votes. Sechrist won the 2A state title with a time of 15:39.51. Miller didn’t fare as well, but ran a better time at state. She finished second with a time of 15:08.41.

3A Team of the Year

The Hesston girls’ basketball team leads the Cheney girls’ track team for 3A Team of the Year by 40 votes. The Lady Swathers lost one game all year and beat Lyons for the state championship 46-36. Cheney’s Taylor Needham won three state titles to lead the Lady Cardinals to the team championship. Needham won the 100, 200 and 300 hurdles. Carlea Holt took gold in the Javelin.

More than 6,000 people have had their voice heard in this year’s Catchy Awards.


If you are using the app, tap the Catchys section on the bar at the bottom of the screen.

Voting will end July 25, so there is still plenty of time for these races to shift.

The current leaders by category are as follows:

Football Player – DeAndre Goolsby of Derby
Volleyball Player – Bryna Vogel of Clearwater
Boys Cross Country Runner – Pedro Montoya of Ellinwood
Girls Cross Country Runner – Emily Sechrist of Hillsboro
Boys Soccer Player – Luis Fernandez of Bishop Carroll
Girls Golfer  - Taryn Torgerson of Buhler
Girls Tennis Player/Duo – Do-hee Lee of Andover
Boys Basketball Player – Trevon Evans of Goddard Eisenhower
Girls Basketball Player – Bryna Vogel of Clearwater
Wrestler – Preston Weigel of Hays
Boys Bowler – Jerod Hromek of Circle
Girls Bowler – Shannon Kane of Goddard Eisenhower
Boys Swimming – Gavin Smith of Rose Hill
Baseball Player – Tyler Jones of Andale
Softball Player – Morgan Bohanan of Goddard
Boys Golf – Skyler Tebo of Ellis
Boys Tennis Player/Duo – Peter Horton & Ryan Horton of McPherson
Boys Track Athlete – Ryan Schadler of Hesston
Girls Track Athlete – Taylor Needham of Cheney
Girls Swimmer – Kendall Kilgore of Wichita Trinity
Girls Soccer Player – Reagan Kaiser of Hays
6A Team of the Year – Derby Football
5A Team of the Year – Goddard Wrestling
4A Team of the Year – Buhler Football
3A Team of the Year – Hesston Girls’ Basketball
2A Team of the Year – Hillsboro Volleyball
1A Team of the Year –  Hoxie Girls’ Basketball
Story of the Year – Hoxie girls’ basketball completes third-straight state championship, on a 73-game win streak.